If We Were On a Coffee Date

IMG_5796

//IF WE WERE ON A COFFEE DATE//

If we were on a coffee date, I would order a LARGE hazelnut latte and whatever you’re having too. If we were inside I would would be praising Jesus for the air-conditioning and sweet smell of espresso.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you that last night I watched Jurassic Park on a projector screen, OUTSIDE, in the middle of NOWHERE. It was awesome. And terrifying.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you that if I’m being really honest, I love missions, but being away from family is the hardest part of it all. Sometimes I get so homesick I can’t get out of bed all day. I would also tell you that I had one of those days this week.

If we were on a coffee date, I would want to give you a huge hug, but I would have to warn you that I smell like sweat, salt water, and and BO. You would probably say its OK, but I would suggest you hold your breath and take a shower afterwards.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you about how amazing the group of 9 students are that I’m leading. I would tell you about how they share Gods love everywhere they go and they are daily overcoming challenges and conquering fears. I would tell you how proud I am of them, and how much I love discipleship.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you about how Cora is trying to walk! She stands on her own and bounces back and forth but hasn’t quite mustered up the courage to take that first step. I would tell you how proud of her I am. I would tell you about how we boil water and mix it will the bathroom water to make it warm for her bath times. I would tell you how she got caught in the mosquito net above her bed and how she loves Dominican music.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you about the date Josh and I had at PriceSmart last week. We ordered a $10 pizza and walked around the food isles talking about this life we live and how good God is to us. Its the little things, I would tell you.

If we were on a coffee date, I would ask you to pray for Josh and I to hear Gods guidance in our next step. I would tell you that we only see a few months down the road and then life looks like anything after that. I would tell you how more than anything we want to obey Gods will, seek His guidance , and expand His kingdom. I would also tell you that this comes with a lot of “unknowns” and worries for me. Im a planner, a “big picture” person and being in the unknown is way out of my comfort zone. Way out.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you how over the moon excited I am that my sister is coming to the Dominican in ONE MONTH. I would tell you how excited I am to see that long-haired, pretty-eyed girl, and watch her adapt to this new culture.

If were on a coffee date I would probably need a refill of that large Latte about now…

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10715103/?claim=39cgrgrpyt5″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

One thought on “If We Were On a Coffee Date

  1. Lex, I love this. Your honesty is really beautiful. Way South in Oklahoma, we are having World Outreach Week at FUMC….so your picture is everywhere and we are praying for you constantly! I walked down the bridge with some of the Roses and we all turned around at the same moment…you, Josh and Cora were in a video and we had heard you laugh and Cora squeal. It made me miss you even more than I already do!

Leave a Reply

